Where the Hell Did It Go To?

If your wondering what IT is, calm down cause I’m obviously going to tell you…..drumroll please….**In my best Wall-E voice** Ta-Dah…2008 MTV EMA’s Best African Act. We only get our 1 MTV continental award, ok, I know it’s the Europe Music Awards, but you could have just given us the one. Oh, I just remembered the MAMAs, i.e MTV Africa Music Awards, but still we would have loved one. Since we now have the MAMAs it still sounds kinda wrong I’m guessing there’s no need for that award anymore on EMAs.

Anyhoo, the host for the first annual MAMAs is Trevor Nelson, I hope he’s done his research & he won’t call 9ice as 9 ice instead of 9ice. Like June Saprong. Or mispronounce 2face Idibia like the [policeman on] Hollyoaks dude. At least we’ll know the MAMAs will not present D’banj as D[‘banj Mo-Hits Allstars like the 2008 MOBOs. But, I digress, the country with the leading nominations is South Africa, with 19. While Nigeria is second with 16. Y’all know RSA’s only leading thanks to the fact that Naij doesn’t have a big Alternative scene.

I am sure your wondering the when & where of this big event. It takes at the Abuja Velodrome in Nigeria duh on the 22nd of November, 2008 double duh. With a televised broadcast as a 2 hour show on the 29th, still don’t know the actual times of the broadcasts, since it will be airing on local African stations and apparently on a/the international station(s) as well. Hope it goes well & I hope the organizers are not going to do it on Naija time, cause that would very embarassing. Just remembered a friend at church (don’t worry it was after service) telling me about the THISDAY Africa Rising Festival & about Chris Brown’s antics – The whole, don’t touch me cause my bodyguard will kill you antics, she did get a pic & they was this boy [from the audience] that looked like he was gonna hump CB with the LOOK. Plus, she told me about the late starts & whatnots. If you think I’m kidding about the late starts & whatnots, you could read Bella Naija’s account.

This is what happens when you’re about to rant about something, then you remember why you shouldn’t. Oh & if another ignorant heffer places a notability template on a famous Nigerian’s wikipedia article, I’ll place a notability template on those other people I’ve never heard. God knows, if I had a penny for every random American [& co] band/film/&co’s article on wiki, I’d never have to work again.

Mmm...chocolate! Whoops, leave a message...BEEP!

